Top marks for Portstewart schools

Thursday, 16 November 2017

Top marks for Portstewart schools thumbnailPortstewart teachers pictured at the Rolls Royce Science Awards. Backrow: Heather Quiery, Grainne McGoldric, Sir Tim Smit Presenter of the Eden Prize. Front row: Michele Shaw, Louise Gilmore, Gayle Murray. CC46-29s

TWO Portstewart primary schools, who worked together in a shared education science project, have won a major national science prize.
Portstewart Primary School and St Colum's Primary School were awarded the 2017 Rolls Royce Eden Award at a ceremony in London on Monday, November 6.
The Eden Award goes to the UK school which has made the most significant contribution to ecology education.
Teachers from Portstewart PS and St Colum's PS were presented with their awards by the Eden project founder Sir Tim Smit at the science museum in London.
The schools, who were one of six finalists from over 2,000 applications, were also named runners up in the overall Rolls Royce Science prize.
More than 400 pupil worked together to design and create their own vehicles throughout the 2016-17 school year in their shared education science project, 'Marvellous Movers.'
*Read the full story in this week's Chronicle


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete